4-18-11

R0030733

Image by mura " via Flickr

I had to be the my family business today. It’s not something I look forward to. Anyways, I had a customer came telling me that when we put a battery on her watch, we did not put the back case on the watch back on. With out asking a question, I started to look for the back case. I had other customers come, and because I was looking for this case I was not able to care for the customers as I normally would. After a while of me looking for this case, I could over hear the owner of the tell her husband that she brought the watch in some time ago. At this point I ask, her how long ago did she bring it? she tells me she cannot remember the time or date but it was in winter. After hearing this I continue to look, but I do this to have some time to think of my next move. I know telling the lady that I cannot find the case and her leave ok with it is very slim. A part of me wants to tell her that we are not responsible for items left in the store over 90 days. We do have that written in our receipts, but I don’t think that would fly to well coming from me. So I just tell her to come back when the owner is here and see what can be done. She leaves, with the intention to return.

As a person planning to have own their own store it makes me wonder what is the correct thing to do when I’m in charge. I’m thinking having a 90 day policy is a smart thing to do. I don’t want to have it so customers have their way with me, but still give them time if something happens to feel comfortable to return. I need something to cover my ass, but still make the customers welcomed.

Leave a Reply

